today is Oct 06, 2022

25th May 2022

The Swiss resort was up against Narvik in Norway, Soldeu in Andorra and the German ski resort of Garmish-Partenkirchen.  The World Championship venues for Nordic, Ski Jumping, Snowboard Freestyle and Freeski have also been announced. NEW UPDATED

Crans-Montana received 11 of the 18 votes as the International Ski Federation made its decision.

Narvik and Soldeu received three votes each with Garmish-Partenkirchen given one vote.

“We had four excellent bids to host the 2027 Alpine World Championships and it certainly was not an easy decision,” said a statement from the International Ski Federation, FIS.

“Crans Montana brought a passion to its bid that you could feel.

“Bringing the Alpine World Ski Championships to the heart of Alpine Skiing in 2027 will be an unbelievable opportunity.”

Crans-Montana held the event in 1987 and was the favourite to come out on top.

It has recently held women’s Alpine Ski World Cup races and stressed its ski traditions history.

🎿Crans-Montana organisera les Championnats du Monde de ski alpin en 2027! 🏆La FIS a attribué l’organisation de cet événement, 40 ans après l’édition mémorable de 1987 👉 #cransmontana #fisalpine #cransmontana2027 #valais #wallis #inlovewithswitzerland

— Crans-Montana (@cransmontana) May 25, 2022

We reported on the battle to host the event earlier on PlanetSKI:

  • Venues for 2027 Snowsports World Championships Announced Today

The Swiss Sports Minister, Viola Amherd,  said “hosting such an event in Switzerland is an incredible opportunity.”

“Crans-Montana’s history as winter sports resort is as old as Switzerland’s snow sports tradition.

“The destination has on many occasions proven its talent and expertise in hosting competitions of all sizes.”

The Swiss-Ski President, Urs Lehmann, was vice-president of the Candidature Committee.

“Obtaining the 2027 World Championships is the reward for the excellent work of the whole team over the last few years,” said Urs Lehmann.

“If our project was the most convincing, it is because everyone, from the Commune to the Canton, pulled together.

“We also benefited from a large support from the ski lift company and the community.”


Championnats du monde de ski alpin 2027 à Crans-Montana !

Alpine Ski-Weltmeisterschaften 2027 in Crans-Montana!

LET’S RELIVE THE MAGIC OF 1987!#swissskiteam #cransmontana2027 @fisalpine @cransmontana

— SwissSkiTeam (@swissskiteam) May 25, 2022

The expected 200,000 visitors to the event will enjoy a new state-of-the-art, multifunctional finish stadium and have been promised ‘breath-taking Swiss performances on the snow’.

The video of the bid from Crans-Montana outlines what the alpine world ski championships will look like.

It is presented by the back-to-back Olympic Alpine combined champion, Michelle Gisin.

The FIS Council also elected the Organisers of the 2027 Snowboard, Freestyle Freeski, Nordic and the 2026 FIS Ski Flying World Championships.

The final presentations by the six candidates took at the Allianz Tower in Milan, Italy.

Oberstdorf in Germany was unanimously elected as host of the 2026 FIS Ski Flying World Championships.

It will be the seventh time that the German venue has hosted the Ski Flying World Championships.

“After hosting the highly successful FIS Nordic World Ski Championships in 2021, Oberstdorf will bring both a wealth of organizational experience to the table together with very high interest from the community,” said FIS President, Johan Eliasch.

Also unanimously elected was Montafon in Austria for the FIS Snowboard, Freestyle and Freeski World Championships 2027.

It marks the second time that Austria has hosted the joint World Championships, which features more than 30 medal events.

“In 2015, Austria was the first host to take on these massive joint World Championships when Kreischberg hosted. We are happy to go back to the roots with an Austrian resort hosting and are even more pleased to put these World Championships in the very capable hands of Montafon,” said Johan Eliasch

The FIS Nordic World Ski Championships 2027 were unanimously awarded to Falun in Sweden.

The central Swedish community hosted the Nordic World Championships in 2015.

“Falun already gave the world an unforgettable World Championship in 2015 and I am pleased that we can return there so quickly, just 12 years later, which will allow them to build on their experience and deliver another fantastic two weeks of Nordic action,” said Johan Eliasch.

Overview of the votes:

2026 FIS Ski Flying World Championships: Oberstdorf (GER) – unanimous

2027 FIS Freestyle Ski Snowboard World Championships: Montafon (AUT) – unanimous

2027 FIS Nordic World Ski Championships: Falun (SWE) – unanimous

2027 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships: Crans Montana (SUI) – 11 votes Narvik (NOR) – 3 votes Soldeu (AND) – 3 vote Garmisch-Partenkirchen (GER) – 1 vote

Johan Eliasch

Johan Eliasch, image c/o FIS.

Johan Eliasch is set to be re-elected as president of FIS on Thursday.

The Swedish businessman last year won a four-way vote to complete the term of Gian-Franco Kasper.

  • Johan Eliasch is new president of International Ski Federation

He will be at the helm of FIS until after the 2026 Milan-Cortina Winter Olympics in Italy.

Image c/o PlanetSKI